Mothers Day Special :) Rose Petal Ice Cream

Growing up, cooking was an incredible source of connection between Myself and my Mother. As Mother’s Day rolls around, I’m always left thinking about the recipes I grew up on and how closely tied to memory those flavors are.This year, I wanted to celebrate mothers day everywhere by putting together a roundup of incredible recipe that are perfect for Mother’s Day. So when I wanted to make something in honor of my mom this year for Mother’s Day, I decided to think more along the lines of healing food with nourishing, gut and healing scoop! My mom loves ice cream. She eats it all year round and I always thought she was crazy for it 🙂

There are many words I could use to describe my Mum – kind, knowledge-seeking, self-contained, introverted, stubborn, independent, fit, loyal,lovely they are all true. But, the one that resonates most for me is ‘constant’. My Mum has always been in my corner, no matter what. I love her most for that.Its the special dish that bring back fond family memories for Taste of Home.This elegant and enticing brunch is perfect for celebrating Mothers Day – This one goes for you Mom ! Love You 🙂 

Ingredients 

600m double cream

200g  sugar

 vanilla custard

4 tbsp rose syrup

4 tbsp dried edible rose petals

A few drops of pink food colouring

 

Method 

Put the cream and sugar in a pan and bring to the boil. Remove from the heat and stir until the sugar has dissolved, then set aside to cool completely. Place in a bowl and stir in the custard, rose syrup (or rose extract), rose petals (if using) and food colouring. Transfer to an ice cream machine and churn and chill according to the manufacturer’s instructions

If you don’t have an ice cream machine, stir the mixture, place in a freezer proof container and freeze for half an hour. Remove and beat with a fork or an electric hand whisk until it is a uniform consistency. Repeat the freezing and mixing three times then stir  and freeze for 1 hour.

To serve, scoop into bowls and garnish with dried rose petals.

31D76CD300000578-0-image-a-1_1457103743154

 

30 thoughts on “Mothers Day Special :) Rose Petal Ice Cream

Spare a minute to share your Views...

